If you have a gluten free child, it can be a challenge to make an Easter Gift Basket for him or her.
You may be wondering what gluten free Easter candy is safe to put in their homemade Easter gift basket. Grandparents as well as aunts and uncles maybe wondering what’s OK to bring over in any Easter baskets or gifts they may be preparing for the holiday, too!
Here's the list of gluten free Easter candy according to VeryWellFit, updated for 2018 that's OK for your gluten free custom Easter basket.
However, since manufacturers often change ingredients and shared facilities, make sure to check the labels each time you make a purchase. The label should state below the list of ingredients that it’s gluten free.
A list of gluten free Easter candy for your homemade Easter gift basket
- Almost all PEEPS marshmallow treats. Most colors, shapes or flavors as long as they contain the words “gluten-free” on the ingredients label.
- Plain milk chocolate regular-sized Hershey's Kisses in Easter-themed foil wrappers. Hershey's will specify any gluten-containing ingredients on their labels.
- Easter-themed Dove chocolate products, including Dove chocolate Easter bunnies, Dove egg-shaped candies and Easter-themed Dove bars. There may be some Dove chocolate products with “made on equipment shared with wheat” warnings. Mars Inc. will identify gluten ingredients on the product's label.
- Most Easter-themed M&Ms chocolate products, including M&Ms solid milk chocolate Easter bunny, M&M candies in Easter colors, and egg-shaped M&M candies. Exceptions include pretzel M&Ms, which obviously contain gluten. Also, some specialty flavored M&Ms will contain warnings about shared equipment, so check the label!
- Jelly Belly jelly beans and all Jelly Belly specially themed Easter packages. Even the licorice flavor is gluten free!
- Easter-themed Starburst candy, including jelly beans and special Easter candy packages.
- Easter-themed Tootsie Roll candy, including Dubble Bubble Easter egg-shaped bubble gum, Tootsie Pops, Charms Blow Pops and Charms Candy Carnival products.
- Necco Candy Eggs.
- Kraft Bunny Mallows and Egg Mallows. Kraft Foods Group Inc. clearly discloses any gluten ingredients on their labels.
- Cadbury Mini Crème Eggs, Mini Eggs, Caramel Eggs, and Crème Egg. Look for the Cadbury products labeled “gluten-absent” these products are considered gluten-free however they warn for potential cross contamination.
The Celiac Disease Organization also has a list of gluten free Easter and Passover candy on their website. This list is also good to use for your gluten free Easter basket gift ideas.
Non-candy goodies to put in your child's custom Easter gift basket
Here are some suggestions for other items you can put in your child’s Easter gift basket especially if you want them to have a sugar free Easter gift basket!
- Gluten free lip balms. According to the Savvy Celiac, my daughter, Lucie’s favorite EOS Lip Balm is labeled gluten free right on the package! Since they look like Easter eggs, they’re just perfect to put in your sugar free Easter basket! Other gluten free lip balm choices are Bonne Bell: Lip Lites, Carmex, and Blistex.
- Art supplies like paints, coloring books, crayons, stickers, and sketchpads
- Cool t-shirts (roll them up inside the basket!)
- Easter Mad Libs!
- Gift cards to iTunes, Amazon, Xbox or GameStop
- Gel pens
- Ear buds (my kids are constantly breaking theirs)
- Temporary tattoos
- Cool phone cases
- Fun costume jewelry
- Funky shoelaces
- Cellphone charging cords – I highly recommend the iPhone charging cords from Zeus Products that come with a lifetime warranty. When my 5-foot charging cord broke, they replaced it for free.
- Mechanical pencils and lead
- Hairbands and bows
- Portable phone chargers
- Playing cards
- Action figures
- Coloring books – good for older kids and adults, too!
And don’t forget to get bunny ears for the whole family! Those, of course, are naturally gluten free!
Originally published March 10, 2015 and March 20, 2017. Updated with new pictures.